Paul Simon at First Avenue

edited May 2011 in Live Music
Last night saw yet another trip to First Avenue for me, but this time it was a bit of a bigger deal than usual. My wife and I were there to see two time Rock 'n Roll Hall of Famer Paul Simon. Seeing someone like that in a venue like First Ave (named one of the top ten rock venues of all time by Gibson Guitars) is something that could not be passed up even though I'm a relative novice when it comes to Simon's solo work. The show was unusual even before it started in that the ticket limit was set at two, all tickets were will call only, and they were nontransferable. Clearly they wanted to avoid scalpers, but Ellen saw someone offering the tickets for sale on craigslist for $250 a pop. The guy claimed he'd meet the buyers at First Ave and get them in, but based on how things were set up I somehow doubt he was allowed to do that.