classical help please!

edited August 2009 in Classical
I'm a novice when it comes to classical music, but I find myself with some spare credits and 36 hours in which to spend them in. I'd like to try some classical music, but where to start?
I've attempted this before, and from that experience I know that I probably do not like baroque music (organ and early keyboard instruments in particular), definitely dislike the sound of violins (yeah, I know, but there's something about the tone when they hit the high notes...) and wouldn't like anything too abstract/avantgarde.
On the other hand, having been force-fed Chopin during my childhood, I love the sound of the piano, and, having randomly downloaded World to Come by Maya Beiser last month, have come to the conclusion that I rather like cello music too.
In addition, being in the UK, I thought it may be a good time to stock up on those long tracks/short albums before that '12 credit deal' arrives.
Any suggestions much appreciated!

Comments

• Hey, you should definitely head over to Nereffid's Guide and check out all the...

Oh, wait. Hmm.

Well, if you like the cello, the first thing you need to do is download the first track from Bach: Cello suites, and then decide whether you don't like baroque music.

If you liked the Arvo Part track off "World to Come", the latest Part album on ECM, In Principio, is apparently wonderful (I haven't got it yet).

I'll defer to RonanM on pianistic matters, except to say that Rzewski's The People United Will Never Be Defeated is, in Europe at least, one of the all-time great eMusic bargains.

If you want suggestions for a short "rough guide to classical music", ask - and then the fur will fly!
  • Ok, you got me, I've downloaded that track from Bach, and I do like baroque music.
    ooh ok, ok, quite a lot.